List of works || SELECTED WORKS

SELECTED WORKS: with Type = 'All Works'

Orchestra, Band

Legend (1937)

Weinzweig completed Legend along with The Whirling Dwarf, Spectre, and String Quartet No. 1 during his year at the Eastman School of Music. 


String Quartet No. 1 in d minor (1937)

String Quartet No. 1 is a thickly-textured sonata form movement in a late-Romantic tonal idiom. The slow movement has been singled out as “expressively beautiful.”


The Whirling Dwarf (1937)

John Weinzweig composed The Whirling Dwarf as a student at the Eastman School of Music where he studied with Howard Hanson.  The piece premiered on a CBC radio broadcast entitled Canadian Snapshots, a weekly radio series which ran between 1939 and 1940.

Solo With Orchestra, Band

Spectre (1938)

This work was premiered by Toronto's Melodic Strings on a CBC sunday night broadcast on January 1, 1939. 

Orchestra, Band

Suite (1938)

This piece was composed during Weinzweig's studies at Eastman and was premiered by the Rochester Civic Orchestra. 

Orchestra, Band

The Enchanted Hill (1938)

Weinzweig composed this piece while studying with Howard Hanson at Eastman. It was premiered in Rochester by the civic orchestra as part of a concert for Howard Handson's students. 

Solo With Orchestra, Band

A Tale of Tuamotu (1939)

The piece is based on a tale of lost learning from the Polynesian Tuamotus but contains only certain rythmic quotations. 


Suite for Piano No. 1 (1939)

Suite for PIano No. 1 is the first Canadian serialist composition. Though not a virtuosic showpiece, it requires the performer to explore the nuances of texture, timbre, melody, and rhythm within this solo instrument.

Orchestra, Band

Symphony (1940)

Although American composer Henry Cowell offered to publish the symphony in its entirety, Weinzweig chose to publish only the final movement of the work, which he retitled Rhapsody. 

Orchestra, Band

Rhapsody (1941)

Rhapsody  is the final movement of Weinzweig's Symphony and the only piece he allowed to remain available for performance. It's divided into seven rythmically unique sections.